Ohio Governor Mike DeWine announced on Tuesday that he is mandating masks be worn in public in seven Ohio counties struggling to combat the coronavirus.

As Ohio continues to combat the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, Governor Mike DeWine has issued an order mandating masks be worn in public in seven Ohio counties, including Cuyahoga, Huron, and Trumbull.

The seven counties selected come as a result of the state's tracking of its coronavirus numbers and a system it has adopted to assess the severity of its spread. The seven counties selected for the order are the counties currently in at the red level of the system, which is the second most severe behind purple. Any county that advances to the red level will be added to the order, while a reduction to Level 2 (orange) will drop the county from the order.

The order will go into effect at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, July 8, 2020. The seven counties that currently fall under the order include:

- > Butler
- Cuyahoga
- ➢ Franklin
- ➢ Hamilton
- ➢ Huron
- Montgomery
- > Trumbull

DeWine said that any county under the order will be required to wear masks or face coverings during the following circumstances:

- \checkmark When they are in any indoor location that is not a residence.
- ✓ When they are outdoors and unable to consistently maintain a distance of six feet or more from individuals who are not members of their household.
- ✓ When they are waiting for, riding, driving, or operating public transportation, a taxi, a private care service, or a ride-sharing vehicle.

The order does not apply to those younger than 10-years-old or any other minor who cannot safely wear a face covering.

According to Ohio Lt. Governor Jon Husted, it will be up to law enforcement and not local businesses to enforce the order. Businesses will be expected, however, to comply and encourage customers to wear masks.